Castle Combe Track Day

Castle Combe

Another fantastic track day made even better by great TVR friends. I was in two minds whether to book this up as it is a bit of a trek for me but glad I made the effort. It was an early 04:30 start for me but the traffic was good and arrived at 08:00 for the briefing.

The briefing was interesting, I made particular note of Quary being the most crashed corner of any UK track so the advice given was brake before the hill, neutral throttle over the hill and then brake further once on the correct line on entry to the corner. I never quite mastered it but the car is still in once piece so that is a bonus.castle-combe-track-layout

I opted straight for the instruction which Peter managed to negotiate into the price of the day when he booked the group. The instructor was very helpful and showed me lines and gave me lots of useful tips.

Driving around the track you cannot help but notice the barriers are very close and no run off or gravel traps whatsoever. Clearly not a circuit where you can take the piss.

Peter also very kindly took me out in his car 5.5 litre Chimaera I must say I am very impressed with his new cam it ‘feels’ much faster that it did before, must be the extra torque.

Phil managed to capture some footage from the pit wall and kindly sent it to me.

The combination of instruction and going out with Peter by the afternoon I had a bit more confidence and was pushing the car harder I had a great run with the Porsche Cayman which pulled me through to my fastest time of the day 1:28.88.

The AD08R tyres continue to amaze me, manged to get up to 1.2G this time. Once you have heat in them they do not seem to let go.

Castle  Combe

Bit of analysis from Harry’s Lap Timer:

Castle Combe

Great to see and catch up with Anthony Precat as well, we had a great run back and was enjoying watching the epic flames from his stunning Griff.

Castle Combe

Leave a Reply

