TVR Power Dyno Run

IMG_0480

I booked the Griff in with Powers Performance (TVR Power) for a dyno run following my last visit to the drag strip for PH Sunday service. My 1/4 PB is 13.202 a couple of years ago, I have since changed the standard cam for a TVR Power 885 cam and the road tyres have been swapped for AD08Rs.

Sunday service was great fun but I could not get any faster than a 13.5 and my terminal speed was down from 107 to 104. My assumption was the car had lost a bit of power somewhere so I booked the car in with Jason at TVR Power.

To my suprise the car was up from 242.8BHP on the original TVR435 cam to 275.1BHP on the TVR Power 885 cam. Torque also looking more healthy up from 278 to 295. Clearly no horses have bolted the stable so clearly down to the driver :-/ perhaps I have lost some driver XP

TVR Power dyno reads in wheel BHP so I have converted to flywheel using the below site
http://www.mk5cortinaestate.co.uk/calculator4.php

BHP – 324BHP
Torque – 348ftlb

A huge thank you to Dom and Jason at TVR Power not only for accommodating me a short notice; despite using up over 2 hours of Jasons time and using the dyno cell Dom refused to take any money from me. A very kind gesture and I am most grateful.

 

03ojZfDV

Jason showed me some of the work he has been doing with the MBE ECUs which I am now 100% set on getting fitted to mine. Really nice pieces of kit and used by the likes of Caterham, Noble and Harley Davidson so fully type approved and OEM quality. Mine randomly lost all power last weekend, a quick rummage in the foot well and order was restored I think I am on borrowed time with my loom, it has already been repaired twice at great expense, looking at the quality looms Jason makes up for the MBE systems I am convinced this is the way to go.

The Griff did well against the M5s at Sunday service:

What I cannot work out is if I have a mildly tuned 500 with 275BHP at the wheels, how does a completely standard 500 leave me for dead mid track onwards despite getting a good start?

In summary TVR Power = awesome. TVR Power 885 cam = awesome. Driver needs lessons. How the F*** is Dave’s Griff so quick?

Leave a Reply

