Snetterton 300 Track Day

CH_160614_SN_Cars_1387

Another Snetterton track day organised by fellow TVR Pistonheaders. One of my favourite tracks as it is less than 2 hours away from where I live and it suits the Griff being a power track with long straights.

The circuit for the track day was the full 3mile ‘300’ circuit which includes 2 fast straights and a number of more technical areas.
snetterton-300-circuit

The noise limit for the day was 105dB static. Last year I just sneaked through the limit without the need for any additional cans. This year the same, the car was measured as 104dB much to the surprise of the MSV staff. On track unfortunately I I was black flagged as I breached the driveway noise limit and was required to don the ACT bolt on silencers.

The weather forecast was grim but the rain did not come in the quantity that was forecast so for the most part the track was dry. The TVR performed impeccably.

As per usual my trusty GoPro was on hand, unfortunately MSV deemed that the official 3M GoPro mount was no longer allowed for trackdays and all cameras needed to be mechanically mounted so I was not allowed to run with the camera on the front of the car.

I was also running Harry’s Lap Timer app on my iPhone, not for competitive lap timing as this is not allowed but for video telemetry overlay on my personal videos.

I have also invested in a Racelogic VBox Sport to use with Harry’s Lap Timer as the iPhone internal 1Hz GPS sensor proved did not seem to adequately keep up with the video before. The Racelogic VBox has a 20hz GPS sensor and pair with the iPhone using bluetooth. You can see it Gaffer taped to the dashboard in the video.

VBOX-Sport-iPhone-LapTimerApp

My best lap of the day was 2:24.66 at an average speed of 73.8MPH which I was happy with.

IMG_0309

CH_160614_SN_Cars_1117

 

CH_160614_SN_Cars_1579.jpg

Leave a Reply

